What -Is- "clear And Unambiguous Compliance" With The Mmmact?

Green Cross

Throwing this out, asking your input: what -IS- "clear and unambiguous compliance" with the MMMAct?

I got to wondering. Being a researcher I consulted 8 lawyers knowledgeable in the Act including Karen O'Keefe Esq. Asked that question, each summarized: "until an Appeals Court rules otherwise there is no bullet-proof answer except caregiver-patient duos linked together through the Registry," and both must stay within medicine weight limits. As in, "clear and unambiguous compliance" means having both names on both cards. Worryingly, even patient-to-patient transfers may be challenged as trafficking by aggressive prosecutors. That's draconian in a state where 63% of voters passed our plain language ballot initiative. Until we get clarity it sure seems that moderation and prudence would be good defensive strategies. Don't know whether these are true, just reporting lawyers' responses. What say you?

The law was actually rather artfully drafted. The purpose was a little bit like blackjack- you know, come as close to legalization as possible without going over or something like that.

The contradictions and holes were left intentionally due to polling and focus group data and were not filled because doing so would have meant the law would not have passed.

Like all legislation this was a compromise, and not a particularly good one but it was the best we could do given the procedures allowed under Michigan law.

I agree clear and unambiguous compliance with the MMMA is rather tricky given the unclear and ambiguous language of the Act.

The way I read it, this is a very expansive law that virtually legalizes marijuana, leaving only a thin sheen of medical veneer to overlay it.