Patient Lists Held By Law Enforcement?!?!

longmiles

Hello.

I am very new to the medical marijuana world and look forward to gaining knowledge from this forum and others.

A friend of mine in law enforcement told me that a list of registered medical marijuana patients by county is kept on file by local law enforcement agencies. Is this true?

Thank You

It should not be true due to the patient confidentiality law. The Police Chief here in Monroe,Mi. said there is no way for them to know in advance who may be a legal patient. If they get a call from someone complaining about marijuana use or growing they have to check it out to find out if it is a legal patient or not. So no I would say it is NOT true

I would like everyone to take notice on people newly registered to this website and immediately their first post is some type of scare tactic. Could this be out of concern? Sure, I will give anyone the benefit of the doubt, but wow, first post. The only records I know police have are the ones they confiscated in those raids, which are supposed to be confidential.

Quoted verbatim from the LAW

(h) The following confidentiality rules shall apply:

(1) Applications and supporting information submitted by qualifying patients, including information regarding their primary caregivers and physicians, are confidential.

(2) The department shall maintain a confidential list of the persons to whom the department has issued registry identification cards. Individual names and other identifying information on the list is confidential and is exempt from disclosure under the freedom of information act, 1976 PA 442, MCL 15.231 to 15.246.

(3) The department shall verify to law enforcement personnel whether a registry identification card is valid, without disclosing more information than is reasonably necessary to verify the authenticity of the registry identification card.