Seeking Advice

arind789

This is my first post here, hopefully I do this right. I have a med card from Colorado where I am a resident, I am currently staying with my father in Michigan.

The other night an officer walked up to me sitting in my car in a parking lot. He said he smelled marijuana and wanted to search my car, he found nothing in my car, then searched me and found my pipe in my coat pocket. I showed him my card and after running my info, he returned and said I needed a Michigan card, and that it will be up to the prosecutor, but he may decide to charge me with possession. Residency prevents me from being able to get a card here, however wouldn't my valid Colorado card be usable to prove I have a doctors recommendation, and therefore be usable as Affirmative Defense under section 8 (1) of the MMMA? I don't know what to do at this point, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

our law DOES have a visiting patients clause.

did you give the cop authorization to search your vehicle or your persons? if you did not, it is an illegal search. were the keys in the ignition or was the car running, even if just for the radio at the time?

if you did, you SHOULD be ok under our visiting patient clause in our law, unless you had more the 2.5 oz on you at the time. Did you have anything besides the pipe? and medicine with you at the time, or was the pipe all that was found?

hate to say it but i would call either Michael Komorn, or Matt Able, both very qualified lawyers that specialize in MMJ cases.

hate to say it, but your the 1st visiting pt i have heard of having an issue.

with our current AG, he may wish to try to make an example of you. i would immediatly call a Lawyer and get on the phone with the ACLU. the ACLU (american Civil Liberties Union) would probably Love to hear from you on this matter, and may be willing to go to bat with you should this matter progress further.

Thanks for the responses.