Can My Husband Own Guns If I Have A Medical Marijuana Card?

Ok, I feel really dumb here but, I am completely new to all of this and I want to make sure I will be following the law. As of right now I have not applied for my card because my husband has a muzzle loader and a .22 rifle. Two reasons we have these. 1) My husband uses these to help put food on our table and 2) I would feel awful asking him to give up his guns. Sooooo, does the law state that the individual posessing the card can not own a gun or, is it that there can't be a gun on the premises?

Thanks in advance!

That was something we are considering. Only problem is, the only family we have is EXTREMELY opposed to guns of any kind and as sad as it is, we don't really have any friends. Funny how you may have a number of "good friends" until you get sick. So, at this point, I'm going to try to figure out how to convince family to help us out. Ugh! It's hard enough being sick, why don't they (govt.) get that?

Thank you again :).

Yes, of course he can lawfully own guns, even if he is a felon, so long as the weapons are replicas of weapons made before 1859. (Cartridge versions included, including the power hitting .44) These even felons can own (except in Illinois, where by state law they are speifically proscribed). Cabellas welcomes your purchases, and this time of year has most of the models on sale at the lowest prices of the year.

fire·arm (frärm)n.A weapon, especially a pistol or rifle, capable of firing a projectile and using an explosive charge as a propellant.

Ok, but black powder weapons are by definition a firearm however, you can have them if you have your card. I guess my question is, where is the line drawn? If the concern is someone in an altered state being a danger to himself or others then handing over a container of highly combustable powder makes no sense.

Btw, I'm NOT trying to start an argument. I'm just pointing out that it's interesting and kinda confusing.