Poll On Children And Medical Cannabis, Marquette

This is an interesting poll asking if children should have access to medical cannabis.

http://www.uppermichiganssource.com/news/story.aspx?id=759293

Here was my comment, add your own....

As a certification physician, I can say I've certified 3 children since the Act began. 2 were 17 year olds with Cerebral Palsy, bedridden with spasms and agitation. The 3rd was a 12 year old with ovarian cancer and is doing very well.

I think it is a misconception that folks getting cards are '18 year olds with stubbed toes'. My average patient age is 51, all have well documented medical records. Many are no longer taking narcotics such as vicodin or oxycontin.

Statistically, fewer than 20% of my patients are under the age of 26, the range is 12 to 96, and the vast majority of those younger patients were on chronic pain medications and other therapies due to motor vehicle or sports injuries.

It is easy to put up a poll about 'do you think children should use marijuana'. Heck no, I don't think spouse abuse is good or we should be dependent on foreign oil either. But would your poll results be different if you asked, should a 12 year old be able to use marijuana during chemotherapy?

Dr. 'Bob' Townsend

I find it appalling that people are so against medical cannabis for children but find no qualm with dumping bottle after bottle of tylenol childrens (which we all know of the risk and recent safety violations regarding this medication) down their child's throat. One day our society will, hopefully, get its head screwed on straight so we can stop poisioning our children.