Very Small Number Of 'legitimate' Patients Using Cannabis

Just thought I would share a response I put up to an MLive Story. Some good information and arguments to use in your own responses to stories....

It was just a quick response fired off as I was getting ready for work, but a good way to respond to a common theme from the antis. Here is the link and the response to a poster talking about the 'very small number of legitimate patients'...

http://www.mlive.com/news/jackson/index.ssf/2012/07/day-care_parents_complain_to_b.html

It always amazes me when folks like to talk about the 'very small number' of people that use it for 'legitimate' reasons. Lake, I am not picking on you, this is a common theme, you are just the lucky 'repeater' that used it. Just to make full disclosure, I am a physician, I treat pain and do marijuana certifications, but I think anyone will see the point I am making.

First of all, what exactly are your 'legitimate medical reasons'? Since I am sure we all have our own opinion of what is reason to use a schedule 1 controlled substance, what do you say we just stick with what the LAW says is a 'legitimate medical reason'?

Take chronic severe pain. How many of the adults that go to a physician are seen for chronic severe pain? About 1 in 5. There are 30,000 active physicians in this state, assume about 1/2 are primary care docs seeing about 20 patients a day (believe it or not, that is pretty average- I've been in practice since the early 90's and know). The math is simple 4 pain patients per day, 200 working days a year, 15,000 doctors. That is 1.2 MILLION office visits in Michigan for chronic pain per year.

If each of those 15,000 doctors only found ONE patient to certify a month, we would have 180,000 card holders in Michigan for chronic pain alone. At ONE CERTIFICATION PER MONTH PER DOCTOR.