Question About Bugs On The Leaves....

bestingr

Hey this is my first time experiencing this. I just bought a batch of clones this past Saturday and I was just sitting down really looking them over and on 2 of the plants (leaves) I found a total 5 tiny little bugs walking back n forth with white particles in their mouths. I'm curious if this is spider mites. I can see them with my eyes, although I did use my microscope for a better look, but I was clearly able to see them....

I was able to brush the 5 away with my hands.... is that enough to stop them????

Is my grow tent "infested" now? If I were to just throw out these clones and get some new ones should I be okay?

Is it possible those are good bugs?

I really have no idea, but I know in past grows I've never seen tiny bugs on them so I'm curious...

Thanks!

Edited by bestingr

Most likely spidermites.

Did you have other plants in your area already? If so, I'm with zombie, gotta treat all of the plants AND the room. If these were the only plants you have, you'd probably be ok just treating the new plants, but to be on the safe side, it wouldn't hurt to let off a pyrethum bomb in your tent while you've got the plants out of it for treatment.

Or, you could get some spider mite predators. I recommend them to everyone as they are the only thing that I have to work long term. http://www.naturescontrol.com/mite.html has good info and I use their 'triple threat' pack of predatory mites.

no bugs is good bugs in a medical grow!

Most pest infestation found on clones are mites. you will see mite damage on the leaves before you see webs. The leaf will have brown spots where the mites sucked the leaf - it will look like a shotgun pattern. If you can see 5, you cannot see the 20 mites and their 1,000 eggs.

I recommend the dipping process - dip each new plant in a bucket of neem oil solution (azamax) - this is better than spraying the plants.

Always quarantine your new plants.