Study Group (Introduction And Information Requests)

Welcome to the study group! We're learning together, we're trying to understand, we're trying to promote scientific knowledge to the general public, and somebody will likely to be more than willing to help with any questions you might have.  :)     

Have you ever heard someone refer to a cannabinoid receptor (ie CB1 or CB2), and wondered to yourself what it meant? I once thought that CB1 was a single receptor in the brain. Then I studied. Now I understand that there are thousands and thousands of cannabinoid receptors in the human body, and that they're constantly in flux; there are ways to increase and decrease the number of them, as well as naturally occurring cannabinoids in the body; a successful way of targeting an ailment is to recognize and target the receptors that are closest to it. Understanding cannabinoids, the endocannabinoid system, and their relation to health and disease, helps to increase the potential to deliver therapeutic value from cannabinoid treatments, and is the purpose of this group.

Join us. We're learning which cannabinoids and terpenes have properties most likely to deliver therapeutic value for particular ailments. We're trying to understand which cannabinoids have properties that have the potential to exacerbate issues in some conditions. We're trying to establish which delivery methods are best in particular scenarios. This is useful, applicable, information for cannabis patients. It might take some studying, but it's time well spent, imo.

I assume that most of us have first hand experience with the therapeutic value of cannabis, not enough of us know how cannabis works. You don't have to be a good poker player to play poker, but the more you know, and the better you play, the better your odds. Cannabinoid based therapy is no different.