Howdy All

Hi guys; just signed on yesterday and introducing myself and a telling little about why I am here. 

I’m a nursery farmer in The Thumb who is a worn out 63 year old former hell raiser, smoker and grower from the late 60’s - mid 70’s.  For almost 40 years now I’ve made an honest albeit backbreaking living tending my many acres of nursery stock, many times in very cold damp weather.  In the past 10 years I’ve had more things repaired, replaced and removed from this old bod than I care to think about. 

One of the things that cannot be fixed completely are my badly worn joints (although I did get my rt. hip replaced in 07; couldn’t even walk anymore) and accompanying arthritis, especially in my extremities and lower back.  In the process of trying to ease the pain, my family doc would prescribe many pills for this ‘n that.  After a while they don’t work as well so the dosage has to go up…and the vicious cycle continues. 

I was not about to have the dose increased again so I finally quit ‘em all cold turkey about 6 weeks ago, including 120 mg a day oxycodone.  Funny thing though, withdrawal wasn’t too bad after a couple days… probably because I was in bad pain while taking them anyway.  I told my doc what I did and that I wanted him to consider medical weed as a next resort.  Since I have a long medical history of pain trouble, he agreed.

I have been seeking and checking out as much information as possible to really familiarize myself about weed as my future pain reliever of choice.  I know it will work; been there, done that.  After looking over this site it seems pretty obvious to me there is a wealth of good info and camaraderie here.  I said, “Self, register and sign in.”  Now after really looking it over I think I will be glad I did.

Oh, one last thing:  being a horticulturist with a fondness for growing things I’ll probably do my own weed cultivating, per the laws, of course.  Can anyone point me to the seed aisle?  :yahoo-wave: