Defoliation Help

Radar5756

This is my first attempt at defoliation. I'm using a 7 gallon container. 6 parts pro mix and 1 part emerald Mountain for my medium. 600 watt HPS light in a 4x4x7 tent. While in veg I removed most of the fan leaves. I did top the plant once at the 3rd node while in its early stages. This is where I'm at after 6 days in flower. Bushy thing. It measures 20" wide by 16 high.

post-38991-0-81203500-1430925889_thumb.jpg

post-38991-0-02017500-1430925929_thumb.jpg

post-38991-0-92471100-1430925951_thumb.jpg

I would focus the defoliation on the bottom portion of the plant and anywhere in the middle that is too crowded. I personally don't defoliate, but I do lollipop about 1/3 of the plant. I have a panama/dc that has fan leaves that about the size of a gorilla head, but I just tuck those. Good luck. Looks healthy!

Is that fan a little close? hard to tell in the picture.

I know that fan is deceiving in that picture. I have it pointing up and over the top. I have the plant sitting on a 5 gallon bucket for now. The strain I'm working with is Space Ripper. Space Crush (female) X Jack the Ripper. She seems to be taking it well. I'm only 6 days into flower though. I have no idea what the colas look like at this point.

Leave the sun leaves.

That's what they are there for, to catch all the sunlight for photosynthesis.

Remove the foliage from the bottom 1/3 of the plant.

Remove 1/3 of the foliage from the trunk out towards the branch tips.

That should about do it.

You may need a little LST to control her stretch.

Should stretch pretty good.

Good luck.

There was just an article on The Weed Blog about this very subject.

Here's the link;

http://www.theweedblog.com/distribution-of-sugars-within-marijuana-plants/

Enjoy

^^^^ this

what ever does nature do with all those little powerhouse leaves that plague us?