Jump to content

Michigan Drunk and Drugged Driving First Offense


Recommended Posts

Driving under the influence

DUI commonly known as Driving under the influence is the offense of driving, operating, or being in control of a vehicle while impaired by alcohol or drugs, recreational drugs such as cannabis and those prescribed by a doctor to a level that renders the driver incapable of operating a motor vehicle safely.

The name of the offense varies from jurisdiction to jurisdiction and from legal to colloquial terminology. In the United States, the specific criminal offense is usually called driving under the influence, but in some states “driving while intoxicated” (DWI), “operating while impaired” (OWI) or “operating while ability impaired”, “operating a vehicle under the influence” (OVI), etc. Such laws may also apply to boating or piloting aircraft. Vehicles can include farm machinery and horse-drawn carriages, along with bicycles.

Other commonly used terms to describe these offenses include drinking and driving, drunk driving, drunken driving, impaired driving, operating under the influence, or “over the prescribed limit”.

Considered a Crime

It is a crime for a driver to have a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or greater if over age 21 or .02 or greater if under 21. In addition, Michigan has a high-BAC law with enhanced penalties for anyone caught driving with a BAC of .17 or higher.

Drivers can be arrested at any BAC level if they exhibit signs of impairment while operating a motor vehicle. Drivers with any amount of a Schedule 1 controlled substance and/or cocaine are subject to the same fines and penalties as drunk drivers, even if they show no signs of impairment.

Medical Marijuana Exception

The only exception is an individual who has a valid medical marijuana card and is driving with marijuana in his or her system. Under the law, an officer must show they are impaired due to that marijuana. 

Komorn Law PLLC is focused on the protection of Medical Marijuana Patients and their rights since we helped enact the law itself. If you have been accused of driving under the influence of cannabis and are a medical marijuana patient you should call the office and hire us your legal defense team as we have done so many times for other patients. One notable victory you many are aware of is People vs Thue which we won that allows medical marijuana patients to consume marijuana while on probation. There are many many more. Call The Office 248-357-2550

First Offense – Costs and Consequences of a Drunk Driving Conviction

If BAC is below .17 and this is a first offense:
  • Up to $500 fine
  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • Up to 180 days license suspension
  • 6 points on a driver’s license
If BAC is .17 or higher and this is a first offense:
  • Up to $700 fine
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • Up to one year license suspension
  • 6 points on a driver’s license
  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program
  • Ignition interlock use and compliance after 45 days license suspension is required to receive a restricted driver’s license. Convicted drunk drivers have limited driving privileges, are prohibited from operating a vehicle without an approved and properly installed ignition interlock device, and are responsible for all installation and upkeep costs for the device.

Anyone who refuses a breath test the first time is given an automatic one-year driver’s license suspension. For a second refusal within seven years, the suspension is two years.

Convicted drunk drivers are subject to a $1,000 penalty for two consecutive years under the Driver Responsibility Act, for a total of $2,000 in additional costs.

If you or someone you know has been accused of a crime, DUI or Drugged Driving.
Call Komorn Law PLLC and turn your defense into an offense.
Call Now 248-357-2550

Get that First Offense Expunged. Call Our Office.

Gov Whitmer Signs Bill for Clean Slate of Non-Repeat OWI Offenders

Komorn Law Social Media

Recent Posts

Tag Cloud

2020 2021 BMMR CBD corruption. prosecutors detroit dispensary DUI forfeiture ginnifer hency hemp komornlaw lara law enforcement abuse laws legal Legalization marijuana Medical Marijuana Michigan MMFLA MMMA MMMA Regulations MRA news police politics Recreational Cannabis science shattuck

DISCLAIMER
This post may contain re-posted content, opinions, comments, ads, third party posts, outdated information, posts from disgruntled persons, posts from those with agendas and general internet BS. Therefore…Before you believe anything on the internet regarding anything – do your research on Official Government and State Sites, Call the Michigan State Police, Check the State Attorney General Website and Consult an Attorney – Use Your Brain.

The post Michigan Drunk and Drugged Driving First Offense appeared first on Komorn Law.

View the full article

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • dwkl unlocked this topic

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share



×
×
  • Create New...