Helping Patients Become Healthier

I was trying to see the best place to post this topic, and the reason I chose Patient Issues is that I believe patients deserve information that will benefit their health.  So, keeping this in mind I am convinced that organic, outdoor natural gardening is very healthy for the gardener as well as his neighbors.  Healthy patients is the goal, and this is another avenue toward that end, in my opinion.  Any help from the audience would be appreciated greatley, as I am an extreme novice mostly here. 

So, this year I wanted to build a permaculture (look it up, really cool stuff!!), but alas, I am limited by my health and resources to do it correctly, I am trying my best so here is what I am going to do.  I have worked in many organic nutrients including lots and lots of leaves from my yard, some organic homemade compost, and some fish emulsion, kelp, alfalfa meal, bloodmeal, and some other crushed rock with lots of good stuff, fireplace ashes from hardwood, and some other stuff that was healthy to add.  I have raked some rows now, so there are berms about 18" high and sort of narrow on top.  This combined will the thick mulch will help with watering/drainage, as I am directing some rainwater into the trenches to save on my water bill.  So, there are berms all along the garden from east to west, with trenches in between.  I am going to mulch the crap out of it for weeds, and plant in the tops of the berms.  This was the best thing I could think of to do this year, and with any luck I can seed in the fall with alfalfa and clover for weed control and green manure for the next year.  I am hoping to get away with just adding mulch and not having to till this ever again, but it is not a permaculture, so we shall see, probably not.