Predatory Mites?

420 grower

Has anyone tried predatory mites. To get rid of spider mites? They attacked another plant and nothing is working. Help!

I posted this in another thread earlier today, but I'll answer again here. I'm a somewhat amateur MJ grower, with only a couple closet "projects" under my belt. However, I was the operations manager for a 1400 acre citrus property for 6 years in California. Mites were a constant problem and in that size a property there's no possible way to completely eliminate them. I used 3 methods to control the mite population. First, there is mineral oil. You spray this over the plants and it will suffocate the mites and eggs. In citrus, oil treatment delays fruit maturation 2-4 weeks which is undesirable but when they get completely out of control this method is highly effective. I'm unsure what effect oil has on MJ yields or maturation. Maybe someone here could answer this question. Secondly, there are chemical pesticides that will kill mites. Personally, I wouldn't want to put those on something I'm going to smoke. Thirdly I released predatory mites into the orchards on a yearly basis. They are voracious little guys and will feed on the eggs of other mites. Under a mag lens they look like little alligators. They are highly effective, but since they eat the eggs and not the mites themselves their effect does not happen immediately. However, they will feast until all the eggs are gone and then die off but not before laying their own eggs. If your mite problem returns, they will repopulate and attack again. I had to reintroduce them annually due to use of commercial pesticides we used for scale, katydid, worms and other pests which killed "beneficial" mites as well as other "bad" insects. In a home grow, you should not have to reintroduce over and over. I've seen web sites which sell predatory mites through the mail, so hit Google and give them a try. Hope this post helps. Good luck.