Drain Not To Waste:

Iv been running adjustable dripper stakes, in a drain to waste system. Until recently  My trays would drain into a central reservoir, that housed a pump and float valve that pumped runoff threw 1/2in pvc down into the basement drain. One day I was in the basement and I could here my nutrients going down the drain. I thought to myself, it would be nice if I could use the wasted nutrients to water my flower garden. So I devised a plan..

I knew that most of the time the runoff would be to hot for the flowers, so I got two 55 gal trash cans and connected them to each other with pvc (one would have did it but I wanted room to dilute) I then ran an overflow pipe back to the drain and directed the run off into the trashcans, this way I can adjust the run off nutrients  to whatever strength I wanted. 

Then I went and bought some ½ pvc and fittings (the flowers run along two sides of the house and meet at the corner) so I got a 90 degree fitting with a top intake. I connected 20ft of pvc both ways then i drilled small holes every 3in on the underside of the pvc and capped the ends off. then buried it on the backside of the flowers. Then I hooked a pump up in the runoff res in the basement and connected a hose to the outtake that I connect to the 90 degree fitting amd ran to the inside of the basement… then I ran a test to see how things went , it worked like a charm.

Then I got to thinking that the constant watering of the flowers might be too much, and thought about the veggie garden that I didn't initially think of it because its a lot farther away from the house then the flowers.  (I put the veggies far out to try and keep pest away from the grow).