Light Reflective Material

johnbs8

Im in the near end stage of building my grow room and im wondering if i should just paint flat white or would it be better to use reflective mylar material? ive heard flat white is highly reflective but im a painter and i say its not lol. what does anyone else think? paint white or mylar? Thanks Johnb

Flat white paint is very reflective. Studies show flat white paint can be around 90% reflective. There are other benefits too. It helps keep the heat down in the room by absorbing heat from the lights. Mylar reflects heat. In contrast to mylar, it does not create "hot spots" that can damage the plants. It is easy to work with. It is cleanable and does not need replaced often. Unlike mylar it does not give places for mold and pest to hide. It is cheap and easy to clean. White paint is the way to go if your set up allows it. Remember that a mirror absorbs most the light, so just because it does not appear reflective does not mean it is not.

Flat white paint is very reflective. Studies show flat white paint can be around 90% reflective. There are other benefits too. It helps keep the heat down in the room by absorbing heat from the lights. Mylar reflects heat. In contrast to mylar, it does not create "hot spots" that can damage the plants. It is easy to work with. It is cleanable and does not need replaced often. Unlike mylar it does not give places for mold and pest to hide. It is cheap and easy to clean. White paint is the way to go if your set up allows it. Remember that a mirror absorbs most the light, so just because it does not appear reflective does not mean it is not.

I second every word you said. :goodjob: The low loss of reflectivity compared to foyon and mylar is acceptable.

I spray my room down between grows for insect control. Try doing that with film. Most paints already have a anti fungal in them so it's just another layer of defense.

+1000 :goodjob: