Activism Burnout: Signs, Prevention And Remedies

bobandtorey

Not even 24 hours after my friend Chuck Ream told me I should take better care of myself I had a total meltdown. “Charmie you simply cannot do everything yourself,” he said, “because, you know, I’ve been doing this stuff for 45 years and I’ve seen people literally kill themselves doing this work.”

I agreed at the time, thanked him. But the next day I was a complete mess: clumsy and desperate, yelling at people, angry and anxious. I was talking out loud to myself and telling others, “I’m doing everything I can and people are still suffering!” as if I’m personally responsible for not ending the drug war.

It took a few more days to sort out what was happening. I was experiencing activism burn out.

Although I’ve been working with drug war victims for years, I’m not formally trained to help people in trauma. But in the past six months here in Michigan, police raids on patients and caregivers have escalated. Parents call me, desperate for help after their children are taken from them and increasingly, activists I work with are targeted for technical violations of the medical marijuana law.

On February 3, a Crawford County Sheriff deputy accompanied Child Protective Services and a Grayling police officer into Will Reddie’s apartment to serve an emergency warrant and remove his three-year old son from the home. Why?

Police said they thought they smelled marijuana and claimed Will was “agitated and uncooperative.” Will was shot in the chest by the county deputy, who said he produced a pocketknife and lunged at them. He was killed in front his boy, who was immediately placed in foster care.

Will’s family is desperately trying to obtain custody of the child, but CPS is refusing, threatening them. They won’t allow them to see him.