Fibromyalgia

I have had fibromyalgia for years was officially diagnosed around 2004. I tried lyrics, gained 40 lbs. I smoked marijuana for years for pleasure back then. Quit smoking 10 years ago. I can't take narcotics nausea vomiting allergic reactions and do not want them. I worked in the medical field for 30 years and it was taboo to be a pot smoker. Anyway I am fortunate that fibro does not stop me from living. I work full time exercise never call in sick. I just live with it. I have no health insurance and rarely go to the doctor. I take Aleve, a flexeril, amitriptyline and 5mg Xanax at bedtime only and a thyroid pill in the morning. But I am tired of the constant ache. Brain fog comes and goes. I am 56 and refuse to give in to it all. A friend suggested the oil and I decided to do some research. So here I am. What is next?

Yes. You want "cannabis oil", not CBD oil or hemp oil. It is sometimes called improperly called RSO (for Rick Simpson Oil), but no matter.

You want an extract of the resin from high-THC cannabis flower that has been decarboxylated. Look for a small needle-less syringe containing 1 gram of a black, tar looking fluid.

The key to properly ingesting the oil is to place a rice-sized piece on your tongue (better yet, under your tongue) and try to absorb as much as you can through your mucus membranes. That way the THC-9 goes directly to your bloodstream. Some of it will get swallowed, in which case it gets converted to THC-11 in the liver. Both THC-9 and THC-11 have health benefits, so you want them both. But large amounts of THC-11 alone often results in strong psychoactive effects that some people experience (and dislike) after eating an edible.

The goal is to take the oil daily, in increasing doses, so that your body gets used to it. People talk about high tolerance as a bad thing, but that really is the goal. To be able to intake a higher doses of oil, without being affected.