Mushrooms Appearing Out Of Nowhere

Calimari

I've been growing organically in soil for two years. My soil for the last year has been a combination of 75% Roots Organics Greenfields and 25% recycled soil from previous grows. About 2 month ago I started mixing in some Roots Organics Natural & Organic soil. I now have a variety of little mushrooms showing up in both my flower and veg rooms! Some are white 1/2" caps and others are yellow/creamy colored and 1.5" inches across. I am surprised to see them thriving since the humidity is around 50% and they are in direct light (MH in veg, HPS in flower). Is this anything to be concerned with? The guys at my local hydro store think it's all good - just more fungus for the microherd. I'd like to hear what everyone else thinks.

The guys at my local hydro store think it's all good - just more fungus for the microherd.

Not unheard of, but that's funny, you think they'd be more helpful at the store you help pay the bills at.... oh yeah, they don't sell anything to kill mushrooms, (well they do but probably don't know)

If they had something they could sell you to get rid of 'em, it'd co$t $150/g, and you'd need two different kinds. Call it hydro-store logic.

Get rid of them if you can, especially if someone in your house has allergies. Fungus spores - not good for the blood, man.

Hey guys, I put mushrooms, on purpose, in my compost and worm bin. Fungus is good stuff in an organic grow. I frequently culture fungus for fungal teas when in flower. I mix baby oatmeal with wet compost to grow fungus that I use in the tea. The fungus roots ( hyphae) interact with your plant roots. The plant exudes sugars to feed the fungus and the fungus give the plants the requested nutrients in exchange, Good stuff......shredder