Probation???

I am a student at Michigan State University and last year as a freshman I got busted smoking pot on campus. I know this was self-inflicted and I was violating the rules for the medical laws by being on campus but I didnt think it would be this big of a deal. I met with my lawyer today to discuss my possession charges and he said I am looking at 6 months probation even though I had my medical card. Any comments?? Why am i getting probation even though legally I am allowed to possess marijuana? 

Not supposed to be smoking in public for your medical exemptions to be valid. So you were not covered by your card when smoking in public. You were just like anyone else smoking in public then. So you got probation because you have a decent criminal record. 

Now when you go on probation you might have some rights because you have a card, or not, depending on your judge and probation officer. That's where your attorney will shine or become a dull rock. 

is there 

15 minutes ago, Restorium2 said:

Not supposed to be smoking in public for your medical exemptions to be valid. So you were not covered by your card when smoking in public. You were just like anyone else smoking in public then. So you got probation because you have a decent criminal record. 

Now when you go on probation you might have some rights because you have a card, or not, depending on your judge and probation officer. That's where your attorney will shine or become a dull rock. 

What could be another option besides probation? Could I just get hit with a fine?

Your attorney was most likely telling you what has been happening to others in your situation.

What is supposed to be happening is a deterrent to make students quit smoking cannabis in public on campus.

You are the example, to get the word out.

The judge probably figures that a fine would be too easy and not a deterrent. Where as probation is more of a pain in the arse.  I'm just using logic that may or may not apply.