Copd, Ddd, Osteoperosis, Arthritis

Guest 1TokeOverLine

Guest 1TokeOverLine

Hi, I'm an aging VietNam vet whose lifestyle choices finally caught up with me.

I've always worked hard and was continually employed until this past Feb. when I blacked out at work, forcing me to seek a long deterred physical exam.

My work history began returning from the jungles and taking on a rent-a-cop position at the Metro Airport, into a carpentry apprenticeship program eventually culminating with a journeyman's card in the then Local 982 in Detroit.

Construction work took its' toll on my body and I was forced inside after 18 years, accepting a civil service post with the state where I was exposed to asbestos daily. When the state decided it would be cheaper to replace me with a young college kid than keep my salary on the books, and began randomly violating workers with drug tests, I closed the chapter on state employment.

Finally earning my Associate's Degree in Electronic Technology I opened my own TV repair shop and continued college towards my Bachelors', moving on to manage retirement homes and finally storage unit properties.

Unemployment was denied as determined that I "voluntarily terminated employment". I was forced to find out why I was disabled, and finally conceded to return to the VA for a checkup. I was diagnosed with severe emphysema and the COPD was the main cause of my blackouts. The feeling is as though you are drowning and can't catch your breath, for which I was prescribed 3 inhalers; foradil, Spirivia, and mometesone furate (discontinued because of nerve pain side effect). Gabapentin given for the side effect (with new side effect of blurred vision).

Subsequent MRIs and CAT scans revealed severe Degenerative Disc Disease, with 3 cervical collapses (c3-c6). This caused my daily whiplash symptoms with neck pain and migraines. Methocarbamol prescribed for muscle spasms and neck pain.