Leukemia Patient Living In Indiana

Hey guys, this is my first time posting here. I've read through a decent amount of threads related to obtaining a card for non-residents of Michigan, but I feel like I have a unique situation and hopefully someone out there is willing to help me out. So I just turned 21, currently living in Indiana and as the title hinted I am a cancer survivor. I was diagnosed with Acute Myeloid Leukemia back in the fall of 2008, went through a successful treatment protocol including a bone marrow transplant and seemed to be well on my way. Unfortunately, I relapsed last spring 2011, and had to go through a similar experience. Yet again I have conquered my illness, have a fresh 100% donor cell bone marrow, and am doing exceptionally well considering. There's the condensed background. Now for my problem:

So I was on an extremely high dose of I.V. Dilaudid in the hospital most recently, and was sent home on methadone and dilaudid. I basically said screw this I can't live my life like this forever (basically I'm just an impatient, hard working, dedicated individual) and started taking wayyy less than prescribed, obviously a bad idea. Too keep this story as short as possible, I'm not taking the dilaudid anymore and take much less methadone. I would like to ween off the methadone with the aid of medical marijuana, for reasons I highly doubt I need to explain. The obvious problem is that I live in Indiana, but I can make it to the border of Michigan in about 2 hours. Am I basically out of luck unless I move to Michigan or bum there for over 30 days? As a side note, what if I could get a recommendation from my oncologist? My reasoning for not doing this as of yet is that 1) I go to a children's hospital because I was diagnosed under the age of 18. 2) I highly doubt they would approve, from my perspective at least 3) I fear rejection..