Possession charge - have doc rec

Uncured

Hey everyone

Brand new to the forum, and thanks very much in advance. I was pulled over for speeding in Romeo and the cop immediately asked how much weed I had on me. I told him none and he said he smelled it, threatened search warrant, etc. I told him I had a pipe in the car and he proceeded to search the car and found a very small amount, less than a gram. 

I was booked and charged with possession and possession of paraphernalia. I was given a doctors recommendation recently for treatment of pain related to herniated discs in my neck from an accident. The rec was given just a few weeks ago and I hadn’t sent in my application or received the card at the time of the incident. 

Will it be possible to have the charges dropped based on the existing doctor’s recommendation, especially if I have the card by my court date?

I’m a broke student, and haven’t had any income since my accident, and legal fees and attorney fees are going to be very difficult for me. Any help is hugely appreciated. 

Edited by Uncured
Misspelled word

There is the "Section 8" defense for unregistered patients. Don't know how well those work.

Having your card before you go to court certainly wouldn't hurt. Don't know how much it would help though.

Make sure you aggressively pursue your right to a jury trial. Don't take no for an answer. If you get a court appointed lawyer, don't let him slough you off. The judge can replace him at your request if he doesn't defend you to the utmost of his ability (or hers). Hang in there and play the game until they get tired enough of you to drop the case.

You think I'm kidding. I'm not. You haven't committed a crime. You have made a procedural error. They should honor your doctor's recommendation. But... you are possibly dealing with drug Nazis who really dislike marijuana users. Proceed accordingly.

Edited by AmishRnot4ganja