How Much To Use.

I'm new to cooking with cannabis. I have an idea how to make cannabutter. but i'm having trouble with the amount to use. per pound of butter. I pretty much have a tollarence for thc. so how much top med grade buds. Should be added to it. I was suprised how much some of the recipes vary. some say 1/4 some say a 1/2 so i have no clue. could someone help me please.

Depends how strong you want it , I think. For a pound of butter I think half to an ounce would be very potent.

Maybee someone with more experience will chime in. I would be curious at what wieght of bud would no more thc be extracted with a pound of butter.

When I make my butter, glycerin , bho I use the bottom 1/3 of 2 plants and all the trim. So I am not sure what that equals.

Different strains of MJ will provide different end products.. Both in overall flavor profile and effect.. A little experimentation with strain and or combination of stains, and amount used will be necessary to provide a desired end product.. A good amount to start with would be between 7-14g of fine quality cannabis per lb of butter.. Lesser nug or sugar leaf trim will do nicely.. After your butter is prepared try a tsp sized smear on an english muffin or even better a warm homemade biscuit.. Add a little honey, peanut butter or jam and you have a true "Pharm House" treat.. After a few batches it is pretty easy to hone your skills and figure out the amount needed to provide a desired effect for your individual taste.. MMMmm... Biscuits.... Peace, Love and Big Buds

wow, some really good advice on this :)

Personally, when I've made butter.. Haven't the foggiest how much in weight I've used. But I have used the same amount of plant every time.