Does A Cutting (Unrooted Clone) Count As A Plant?

Hello everyone, I am a new patient and planning to grow.. planning out my grow - doing LOTS of reading and research. It seems cloning is the way to go, especially if you find a plant that works well for your condition, cloning it is the only way to keep it for a long period of time.

Anyways, I am just wondering if a cutting (clone without roots) counts as 1 of my allowed 12 plants? Obviously once the cutting has roots it should be considered a plant and then one of the twelve...but what about before it has roots?

I'm under the impression that cloning is a bit tricky, and many growers do not have 100% success with clones, some as low as 25%, which is why this question has been boggin my mind a bit :)

Thanks guys!

i have 99 percent success at cloneing. its easy once u find a method that works great for u, youll have no problem's. and ive been growing for a year. before that never in my life so i was a newbie also. theres a lot of good info on this site. and the are a lot of great people on here that can help u with just about anything.

king of buds

Yeah, I've heard quite a few people saying the same, but also many saying the opposite. It seems there are many methods... a medium like rapid rooters or rockwool accompanied with a dome, bubble cloners, or aeroponic cloners.

However, do you happen to know if a cutting without roots is considered a plant in Michigan?

Yeah, thanks for that link 1TokeOverLine. I think I will play it safe and consider every cutting I take as a plant (if I intent it to be a clone). It seems medical patients and caregivers have been arrested for being over their limit because of a cutting, some have gone to court over it to fight that it isn't technically a plant, but why go through that trouble? I'd rather just count every potential clone as a plant. Besides...from what I see I won't need 12 plants as a patient, if you do it right they get big and produce more than enough medicine.