Mi law regarding caregivers requirements

Ghastly83

Mi law  and caregiver requirements.  Interpretation : If I have been a Michigan resident for over two years,  and never been in any legal trouble in Michigan . I could become my wife's caregiver?  As she has recently requested of me.   State law is in reference specifically to which state it is in place correct? Unless as in business liscence makes the specifications of any legal trouble in Any state.? Would appreciate input on this issue. 

On 2/4/2018 at 7:44 AM, Ghastly83 said:

Mi law  and caregiver requirements.  Interpretation : If I have been a Michigan resident for over two years,  and never been in any legal trouble in Michigan . I could become my wife's caregiver?  As she has recently requested of me.   State law is in reference specifically to which state it is in place correct? Unless as in business liscence makes the specifications of any legal trouble in Any state.? Would appreciate input on this issue. 

your question sounds like you were convicted of a crime in another state?

you can always apply for a caregiver license. LARA then does a background check on you, and then either approves or denies you.

if you are bored you can do your own ichat (michigan state only) background check, just to see whats on your record. ichat specifically says they do not do federal records or other state felonies.

https://apps.michigan.gov/ichat/home.aspx

to answer your other question, if a felony in another state counts as a felony here... no idea. maybe yes maybe no. depends on what kind of other background checks that LARA runs. the quick answer is just apply to be a caregiver and see what they decide.

unless you have an active warrant in another state....