This May Surprise You......

eman66

I am a police officer that has his card and I am also a care giver. I have been providing for a friend of mine who has cancer and after 9 months word has got out to my department. It is a smaller department and most of my guys are behind me but I know the uppers are going to call me in this week. Any advice would be appreciated. I fully believe in what I'm doing and am behind this law 100%, I have consulted an attorney and he said that they can't do anything to me. I know our stupid f-ing K-9 officer is behind this! I just want you to know there are some law enforcement supporting this! Just seeing what you guys think.

• Replies 177
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Ground breaking post here for sure but you being a law enforcement officer you know the law inside and out you know by state law what your doing is perfectly legal your superiors have no right to even approach you over this your privacy rights are being violated. :notfair:

If they try to force you to stop being a caregiver get a lawyer and sue them. :thumbsu:

Guest thequietone

Welcome to the site! Sounds like you're in a tough spot and I hope it all works out for you. I commend you for taking care of your friend. As a cancer survivor I know first hand the relief your friend is getting from your compassion. :goodjob:

Thanks for the invite! The good news is we have an attorney here that is a card holder and provider. She is an advocate of this law and I know her because she taught at our police academy!!! I am going to be contacting her tomorrow, I am going to fight them to the bitter end!

Thanks for the invite! The good news is we have an attorney here that is a card holder and provider. She is an advocate of this law and I know her because she taught at our police academy!!! I am going to be contacting her tomorrow, I am going to fight them to the bitter end!