Almost had electrical fire

matt79

Hi. 

So today i noticed my light was out. 

This is 1 600 watt bulb on a magnetic ballast and a 4 inch extrecator fan hooked up with ducting. Nothing else runs on this outlet.

Check out the pictures. Id like to know why this happened. Im not sure if it started in the timer or the outlet. It also damaged the power cord running to the power strip. The breaker didnt trip(20 amp breaker) ive been running this outlet for 8 years with no problem, sometimes ill run 2 600watters on it.

20170906_115806.jpg

That's where it always happens, right at the plug. Plant lights, Christmas lights, any appliance that draws a lot and gets plugged in a lot. The weight of a heavy cord, the weight of a timer. Over time the connection will fail, and when it does you get arcing and melted plastic. Set up your plugs in a way so that when this happens it just burns up the plastic and nothing else can catch fire. That is exactly why plugs are in metal boxes. This stuff happens. I've had it happen on my Christmas lights, on air conditioner plugs, on my plant light extension cord, and once on a timer. 

Do your best to have all of your plugs getting a nice tight connection and keep flammable items away from plugs. That's the answer to this problem. 

Follow up;

Nice pictures. Makes it really easy to see exactly what happened. You can see by how the plug receptacle is melted that the one prong on the timer wasn't getting a good connection and it arced and sparked and burned. Even perfect home wiring with brand new circuit breakers will not help in a situation like that. 

1 minute ago, zapatosunidos said:

For some reason I thought 10 gauge was required on 20 amp circuits, but maybe that is just with a run of a certain length from the panel.

It would have to be a long distance from panel to use 10g. 

Some houses are built with 12/2 and 20 amp circuits. Cost is more for materials and wiring is harder to work with.